Reviews

Beatriz (Valladolid)octuber 2020
Rusticae

A wonderful place if you want to disconnect, enjoy nature. It has everything you could possibly need to feel at ease and not have to go out of there for practically anything: a fireplace, a barbecue, plenty of wood, complete and impeccable kitchenware, “country chic” decoration… there were even some lovely dogs around that made your stay even more pleasant. I can’t wait to come back.

Christian (Belgium)september 2020
Vrbo

We had a great week at this incredible property away from the crowds and hustle and bustle, in a quiet location, which is exactly what we were looking for. Thanks to Christina for her availability and her precious help when needed. We highly recommend this place.

Patxi (Bilbao)september 2020
Club Rural, Escapada Rural, Google

Unbeatable place to disconnect. Wonderful surroundings. Nature in its purest form. Unbeatable treatment. I highly recommend it. It is possible to go with your pet. Wonderful place if you want to be enjoying family and nature. We will be back.

Gonzalo (Madrid)september 2020
TripAdvisor

The second long term stay (10 days) we make in the Guest House of the property and we end up being just as satisfied as the first one. The house has all the comforts and is perfectly equipped. We travelled 3 people and two large dogs and could not be more comfortable. The walks around the property are wonderful with the dogs, which also make Friends with the dogs from the property, which we are already missing. If the heat is on, the pool is great and there is plenty of space in the shade to relax on the sun beds. In the evenings it’s all quiet and dining at the outdoor table is wonderful. A 5 minute drive away is the village of Baltanás where the cheese factory’s supermarket has everything you need as well as delicious local products, especially sausages and cheese. The owner, Cristina, is charming and always aware of what we might need. A restorative holiday that we will surely repeat.

Santiago (Madrid)august 2020
Google

Amazing! The owner is charming! It’s a beautiful place for all kinds of plans and also for spending a few days in the countryside. I’ve been repeating myself and I hope to keep going for years!

Philippe (France)august 2020
Vrbo

An exceptional stay in a magnificent setting and superb nature. We’ll be back next year. We spent 15 days of happiness in this magnificent property. Our dog loved the long walks every morning. The superb swimming pool. I highly recommend it for nature and peace and quiet lovers. Preferably spend a few days or even weeks to enjoy this paradise.

Elena (Madrid)july 2020
Google

An amazing trip. The rooms and the bathrooms were all beautiful and we slept wonderfully. The house is spectacular and so is the landscape. The walks around the estate are very pleasant and the swimming pool is gorgeous. Luxury rural getaway! The relationship with the owner is very good, and it is a very pleasant place.

Teresa (Madrid)july 2020
Google

Everything is great, the house, the property, the decoration. Palencia the great unknown. It looks like Tuscany.

Ximena (Barcelona)july 2020
Google

An exceptional stay in a magnificent setting and superb nature. We’ll be back next year. We spent 15 days of happiness in this magnificent property. Our dog loved the long walks every morning. The superb swimming pool. I highly recommend it for nature and peace and quiet lovers. Preferably spend a few days or even weeks to enjoy this paradise.

Ángela (Burgos)june 2020
Rusticae

We stayed in the Guest House, and not one detail was missing, there was everything! As it is a ground floor house there are hardly any stairs and that was very comfortable. The surroundings are wonderful and the pool is incredible. There are also many animals: donkeys, goats, squirrels, hares, rabbits, dogs… you don’t get bored for a moment.Every time you walk you see different corners and all of them beautiful. Besides, it is very safe because, as it is private, there are no cars passing by, and my dog could go loose all the time (she was happy and I was very relaxed). Totally recommendable.

Cristina (Madrid)december 2019
Google

A unique property for its dimensions and for its interior care. It is surprising to find places as pleasant as this spot far from the madding crowd. All the romos are spacious, with bathroom, the heating works great, the kitchen is big and with everything you need for the cooks like us, at least two fireplaces inside to enjoy the fire, a beautiful living-room and a dining room with some impressive views and big table for all of us. The treatment of Cristina and Alejandro unbeatable, thanks for the stay, we will be back shortly

Nora (San Sebastián)december 2019
TripAdvisor, Google

A wonderful house in a spectacular place. We rented the Main House complete a group of friends and it was a success. The house has everything you need, you can even order the food. Highly recommended. Cristina was friendly and available at all times.

Lidia (Madrid)december 2019
HomeAway

The accommodation widely meets expectations, it is a very nice and cozy house. Ideal for traveling with dogs. We have loved the window of the lounge to the countryside. Cristina takes care of all the details, making you have everything you need in the house and more. The estate is huge and has different paths to walk. In short, a place to return to.

Carmen (Bilbao)november 2019
Club Rural, Google

The place is wonderful. We have spent a weekend several friends, and it has been great. Highlight the comfort of the Guest House, very cozy, and the kindness of the hostess, Cristina. We will come back.

Ana (Madrid)november 2019
TripAdvisor

We have spent the November holidays in this large rustic finca 5 families with young children. The children have really enjoyed the walks in the countryside since the farm is very wide and there is a lot of land. The house inside is well maintained and comfortable, all rooms have their own bathroom, all modern and very well equipped. It is highly recommended.

Jesús (Madrid)november 2019
HomeAway

We have been a group of friends with children in November and we couldn’t be better! It is a very exclusive estate, the house is wonderful with bathroom in each room, all taken care of with the utmost detail, furniture and preserved decoration of the ancestors of Cristina’s family, the owner of the farm. She guided us and told us all the details and was very attentive at all times. The exteriors are equally wonderful with an underground cellar that did not give us time to visit and a pool that I am sure we will use when we repeat in summer! Thank you very much Cristina for sharing your comfortable home with all of us. I am sure we will return in summer to enjoy the wonderful sunset outside and the pool!

Amalia (Getxo)octuber 2019
TripAdvisor

A great house to spend a few days, with spectacular furniture. All very clean and well maintained. The great treatment, always attentive to our needs. Spectacular landscape and absolute silence.

Pedro (Canarias)octuber 2019
Escapada Rural, Trip Advisor, Google

We stayed at the Guest House and we really loved it. Very quiet, its intimacy, enjoying nature and some animals like the dog and the donkey. It is fully equipped and nothing is missing. It even has the fireplace. I would definitely repeat with my eyes closed.

Jaime (Madrid)september 2019
Google

We spent a weekend with friends at El Cercado. The truth, it was one of those trips that you have to do several times in life with friends or family. We had an amazing time and we can’t stop thinking about going back a thousand times more. They treated us like kings. The house is beautiful. It is a very well maintained country house to the last detail to make the stay as pleasant as possible for everyone. The garden, with the barbecue and the big table to eat in a large group, even more. Being able to watch the sunset from the porch of such a spectacular country house is wonderful and a gift that is rarely received. As for the environment that surrounds the house, totally according to the Palencia landscape. A rustic beauty where to walk and connect with nature. We were proposed thousands of highly recommended and fun activities for the different types of public we were. In short, it was a great stay and the owners a wonderful people. A pity that only 5 stars can be added because it deserves millions more. Thanks and we will be back!

Garbiñe (Mondragón)september 2019
HomeAway

A wonderful place, ample land to walk and rest. My dog loved it! (and me too) If I can I will come back for sure!

Ana (Irún)august 2019
Escapada Rural

We have stayed at the Guest House: a relaxing place and attention to detail, and with a perfect hostess, Cristina

Michelle (Australia)august 2019
HomeAway

Our stay in Cristina’s Guest House was everything we had imagined and more! The house itself was fully equipped with all life’s essentials, a book shelf with every classic known to man, lots of space (excellent for families with kids) and the pool was picture perfect. Cristina was a wonderful host, so kind and caring, she showed us around her home which was an incredibly intimate walk through time, we were absolutely mesmerised by the art and furniture from her ancestors which she so incredibly maintains and restores. She even gave us her home made tomato chutney and honey which was so delicious. Our children loved saying their daily “Holas” to the chickens, donkey and dogs that live on the property. We even managed to squeeze in some day trips to Bilbao and to La Rioja for some wine tasting in the Basque region. For anyone that would like to stay in a tucked away cottage surrounded by fields of gold and yellow (so many incredible sunflowers growing like patchwork’s on a quilt) to rest in the calm and quiet of a small town (though Palencia is not far away for some shopping and wandering) this is the perfect getaway. I can’t recommend this place enough. Thank you Cristina for everything. X

Marta (Madrid)august 2019
HomeAway

Beautiful little house with all kinds of details and utensils. Large, bright and a farm to walk and run the dogs! A wonderful pool and desire to enjoy the slow life !!! Cristina has been super outstanding, and Alejandro also in charge, lovely !!! Being able to travel with two large dogs and above that have so much ground to run and play is unbeatable! We will be back for sure !!!! Thanks Cristina and Alejandro for your attention and recommendations!!!

Carlos (Valencia)july 2019
HomeAway

It has been a great place to repeat. Near Madrid, you have the necessary tranquility to rest. The farm is huge, to get lost with the walks. The attention of the owner has been magnificent. The house is great and gathers everything necessary for a couple. This election has been a magnificent decision.

Krzystof (Poland)july 2019
Escapada Rural, Google

For a long time we have been looking for a place similar to our favorite place in Tuscany and finally it seems to be found. The buildings are old and stylish, inside fully renovated and furnished often in antiquites, the landscape is tremendous and the owner Cristina is a friendly person and a spring of knowledge about the neighbourhood and spanish art in general. A lot, a lot to be seen around. In the mild landscape and quite isolated place (however easy to reach) there is a fantastic oasis of good taste, style, love of art and of the past. The buildings with their history came back to life again thanks to restoration made by Cristina – the owner. Inside all is stylish too. The additional building is very nice for a family of 3-4 people, practically designed with abundance of kitchen equipment.

Patricia (Madrid)june 2019
Escapada Rural, TripAdvisor

We loved the site, in addition to being in a gorgeous environment, the facilities are incomparable, exquisite decoration, complete equipment, we did not lack anything, the comfortable rooms, we were really at ease. The deal with the owner was very good too, helpful and friendly. Very good experience, worth it.

Victoria (Madrid)june 2019
HomeAway

The experience has been a 10. Everything has been perfect. The house is a real luxury of comfort, decoration, utensils, dishes, linens, etc. All very careful and in maximum detail. All rooms have their own bathroom and are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The cleanliness of the whole house is impeccable both in the common areas and in the kitchen, rooms and bathrooms. The environment of the house is beautiful, in the middle of nature with a wonderful landscape in the middle of tranquility and silence. In addition we would like to thank the wonderful treatment received, it has been unbeatable. The pool is more beautiful than in the photos, it is very natural and with a sun loungers and rest area in the shade. The barbecue area and garden table is ideal for evenings with beautiful lighting. Although the heat wave has caught us, the house inside was cool and very nice. We will return without a doubt!

Javier (Madrid)june 2019
Google

Awesome house. In the middle of the country. If you are looking for relaxation, it is an ideal place.

Carolina (Italy)june 2019
Google, Facebook

The farm is fantastic, both its location and its dependencies. We have spent an incredible weekend with friends. Both Cristina and the people who work there have welcomed us, making us feel at home. The farm in wonderful, comfortable and full of details of good taste that speak of the love and professionalism with which they work. Thanks Cristina.

Anne (USA)may 2019
HomeAway

Owner bent over backwards to assist us in our travel and dining arrangements. The accommodations are clean and lovely. Christina couldn’t do enough for us! A very relaxing and beautiful experience. Highly recommended.

Elena (Vigo)may 2019
TripAdvisor

A wonderful house with all kinds of details and very attentive and charming staff. We will repeat as soon as we can!

Carmen (A Coruña)april 2019
Google

Wonderful, I can not put any fault, the environment and the house a 10 and Cristina the owner at all times pending of us so that we do not lack anything, an unforgettable weekend, thank you

María (Madrid)april 2019
Google

A great estate, beautiful rooms, cozy living room and dining room. Great breakfast and very good treatment. Totally recommended

Lise (USA)april 2019
ThirdHome

Spain at its best! If you enjoy staying at Paradors in Spain, a stay at Finca El Cercado is for you! Charm, history, confort, ambiance, the Finca has it all. Definitely a 5 star experience. The owner, Christina, was responsive to all email communications and helpful in all stages of planning. She was there to greet us and get us settled in and could not have been more gracious. We loved learning about the history of the Finca which she inherited from her family. The Finca is off the beaten path so going out at night for diner is problematical. However it is possible to order meals from tapas to full dinners, and the food was both abundant and excellent. The owner also has a wine cellar so local wines can be purchased and enjoyed, and she arranged for an interesting tour of the local wineries, which are small and quite unique. All the bedrooms are tastefully decorated and have their own personalities. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, with all the expected amenities AND MORE. Truly, the owners have thought of everything. Our stay at Finca El Cercado was memorable and among the best of our “ThirdHome” experiences.

Silvia (Bilbao)march 2019
Google

Awesome weekend, the house, the decoration, the meals, the owner, the surroundings. All very highly recommended. I will repeat without a doubt!

Marina (Madrid)march 2019
Escapada Rural

It is a place with a lot of charm, where you enjoy silence, peace and rest in a stately home with a lot of history, tastefully decorated and very well maintained by the owner.

Iria (Madrid)march 2019
TripAdvisor

Two and a half hours from Madrid, in an area unknown to many, but very beautiful, we had the opportunity to spend a great weekend with Cristina (the owner of the house) who welcomed us and treated us beautifully. An atmosphere of peace and tranquility is breathed. Located very close to Baltanás and its wineries, where a charming gentleman named Carlos showed us his winery. Rich and simple food, although you can take your things with you. Fantastic site for family weekend or with friends.

Beatriz (Madrid)march 2019
TripAdvisor

A wonder the house, the treatment, the environment. A unique and magical place to disconnect and enjoy both for families, companies or special events

Silvia (Bilbao)march 2019
TripAdvisor

18 friends we have spent an impressive weekend! Accommodation highly recommended. The ideal house, in detail, all the rooms very comfortable and spacious, each with its own bathroom. The charming owner who has decorated the house with exquisite taste. Breakfasts, lunches, delicious dinners, with products from the field. I will definitely repeat. An unforgettable experience! And the people of Baltanás very very welcoming!

Eva (Madrid)march 2019
TripAdvisor

We have spent three great days at Finca El Cercado, in the Guest house, very familiar and quiet. Cristina has been lovely, fully accessible and showed us the house’s cellar. We went with our dog who greatly enjoyed the farm and in the company of Paco, the host dog. As time accompanied us we made a great barbecue with specialities from the area. Highlight the good taste with which the house is decorated, and that does not lack detail, the kitchen with very complete utensils. Thank you.

Luis (Madrid)february 2019
Escapada Rural, TripAdvisor

Magnificent estate where you can enjoy the accommodation with very cozy and first class rooms, with great detail, a separate Guest House for four people with all the comforts, 50 Ha farm that allows you to enjoy wonderful walks and views, local environment with a tourism that begins to be known, towns such as Baltanás and its winery district, Torquemada with an impressive stone bridge, Dueñas, Támara and Frómista further north and many other locations that allow you to know this region of Cerrato Palentino. In the house Cristina and her people make your stay very cozy, ideal for groups of 16-20 people who want to isolate themselves from the hustle and bustle for a few days. A different way of knowing the Castilian rural environment.

Carmen (Madrid)february 2019
Escapada Rural

Finca in very good condition, Cristina its owner made our stay very good. From there we went to Boadilla del Camino and we walked 7 km of the Camino de Santiago till Frómista, we watched the Canal de Castilla, ate lamb and visited the Romanesque church. The next day, a tour of the estate and visit the winery district of Baltanás. Very good weekend. The house has also a beautiful chapel.

Jesús (Madrid)december 2018
Escapada Rural, TripAdvisor

Our two day stay is impossible to spend in a more pleasant way. The attention was superb, the place is wonderful – we stayed in the Guest House – full of details (from eggs of chickens of the farm to magnificent freshly picked thistle mushrooms, honey of the farm …), exquisitely decorated, Very comfortable, with a great fireplace and lots of dry fire wood, quite spacious and perfect for a couple with children. The farm is also very beautiful, with great walks and beautiful surroundings. Both Cristina, the owner and the staff were put at our disposal to meet any need that may arise. Fully recommended.

Elvira (Madrid)december 2018
HomeAway

Great stay. The house is beautiful, very comfortable for large groups and with everything you need to spend some fantastic days. The farm is very beautiful, very well maintained and a great deal by both Cristina and Alejandro that provided all our needs. We will definitely return.

Pedro (Madrid)december 2018
TripAdvisor

We were in September and we just repeated. We have spent the New Year in family on the farm with children. They have had a great time exploring the estate and playing with the dogs. The farm has a special charm and is full of spots for young explorers. The house is cozy and very spacious. It has a kitchen where children can eat and a lounge to relax while contemplating the landscape. There are also several tables outside in which despite being December we were able to rest in the sun after a good walk. As I said in September, one of the best houses we have been to. Finally, mention the kindness of Alejandro and Cristina who were always available to any possible need

Lola (Madrid)december 2018
Google

We were looking for a rural house to spend a family holiday and, without a doubt, it was the best choice we could make. El Cercado is extremely cozy, all bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate and with all kinds of details, the living room and dining room are super nice and the house is very spacious and comfortable. Everything appetizing and with good taste, ideal for large groups. Without a doubt, a place to which we will return since it has been a pleasant experience!

Christian (Madrid)december 2018
TripAdvisor

The house is beautiful, very well maintained and with all the comforts to spend some fantastic days. An ideal house for a large family or a group of friends. The estate is great for walking and enjoying the countryside, or just sitting down to enjoy a book in the fireplace in winter.

Pedro (Madrid)september 2018
TripAdvisor

We have spent the weekend at Finca el Cercado. It is undoubtedly an exceptional place, both the house and the estate. The children have had a great time exploring and enjoying the pool. The elderly, the barbecue, the walks and the terrace. The house is perfectly equipped, is very spacious (we are 18 between children and adults) and has a special charm. Without a doubt one of the best houses we have been to!

Mercedes (Madrid)august 2018
Google

A beautiful landscape and a very nice house.

Margaux (Paris)august 2018
Google

The place is beautiful, Cristina is extremely helpful and the region has lots of interesting sites to visit. Great if you want to get away with your partner, with kids, with friends. Lots of nice walks as well. Perfect location for a retreat and if you’re looking for peace and quiet while benefiting from Spain’s culture and outings!

Fernando (Santander)august 2018
TripAdvisor, Google

Privileged environment, with a estate not to get tired of walking. Disconnection from the madding crowd in an old house restored with all the comforts; rooms with own bathroom, library … Ideal for large families.

Ángel (Palencia)august 2018
Google

I was at a wedding yesterday and I liked the place for its authenticity. Lack of nonsense or artificial surcharges. Nice, good views, quiet and relaxing, and very healthy. They could have made selective collection of the rubbish we generated at the wedding, but well, maybe that would be too much to ask.

Manuel (Palencia)july 2018
Google

A hideout of Cerrato that will make you fall in love. Essence of the countryside and good taste everywhere.

Catalina (Madrid)june 2018
Google

Wonderful stay and the house beautiful. We were very comfortable!

A.may 2018
TripAdvisor

A dream place … the house, the decoration, the kitchenware … also the landscape, the surroundings. It has been one of the most special places I have stayed; The whole set of things have made a wonderful stay. Cristina has been attentive to everything and has given us some exquisite dishes. Memorable breakfast …

Jesús (Madrid)may 2018
TripAdvisor

I have not known any rural hotel with the quality, care and style of El Cercado. We have spent a few days in an unbeatable environment, full of personalized care and attention, suggestions for plans and ease of execution. The immense task performed by its owner Cristina makes it one of the most fascinating places in Spain and, in particular, privileged watchtower to know what the extraordinary province of Palencia offers “the great unknown” as we had occasion to check and, of course , enjoy it thoroughly. And what about gastronomy! natural along with a refinement difficult to find combined in the appropriate measure, worthy of homage. We will be back. It is a luxury that must be taken full advantage.

Mercedes (Madrid)may 2018
TripAdvisor

El Cercado is an extraordinary estate, with a stately stone house with 7 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms. It has another little house with more bedrooms. The elegance of the decoration, the beauty of the natural environment, the surrounding hills, the quality of the hostess and the amount of cultural visits to the Romanesque of Palencia, or explorations of nature that can be done from here, make it an essential destination

María (Madrid)may 2018
HomeAway, TripAdvisor

I just arrived from a weekend at El Cercado, celebrating my birthday with a group of almost 20 friends. What to say… I think I’ve never been to such a special place. Beauty and natural sensitivity. The very spacious rooms of a good taste that attracts attention combining antiques, impressive fabrics with a series of details that exceed the expected, the detail of natural flowers in all rooms, bathrooms all newly renovated and spacious bedrooms. Rest of the house… a large country home kitchen with its large old and beautiful work table, living room with fireplace, dining room, lovely little chapel of no more than a few meters… All decorated with family furniture and a very chosen bookstore that invites you to stay there in that haven of peace. The cuisine is unique, homemade food prepared with the fresh herbs from the farm, honey produced right there, the vegetable garden, all served with its tablecloths and dishes, the beauty of the breakfast tables with flowers and fruits, eggs of their chickens. Everything is natural and subtle there. It is not just luxury, it is the great luxury because this house and its furniture is history, because comfort is extreme in terms of heating, cleaning, facilities… because it is a subtle cozy beauty. The owner guided us and got us to open 3 churches of the area, with their organs, accompanied by a guide or mayor of the village. She guided us for walks through the estate that has 50 hectares… we made one of 5km !! And she offered us a craft brewing workshop, and visit the underground cellar of the house. The most beautiful and natural birthday I ever had. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Borja (Madrid)may 2018
TripAdvisor

We spent four wonderful days the whole family, babies, children from 5 to 11 years old and couples of different ages. The house is very comfortable, the distribution allows children to be at their leisure, the living room with fireplace gives a lot of ambiance, and the kitchen and dining room gave us great evenings. The estate is like a spectacular Roman villa in a very beautiful region of Castille, dogs accompanying you when you go jogging or walking, roe deer approaching sometimes, and the region is full of opportunities for visits, excursions and activities. A 10 to the house, and its owner Cristina.

Tuska (Madrid) december 2017
HomeAway

The estate is in a beautiful place. We have spent the December holidays with family and pet almost without leaving the house for the pleasure of its fireplace, its distribution, its views … We were encouraged to make excursions so as not to waste the entire offer of the area, but we could have been very happy just walking through the estate of El Cercado. Cristina is as welcoming as her house and the people who help her too. Oh, and our dog became very friendly with Paco, the dog of the house.

Gonzalonovember 2017
Google

Fantastic weekend with the whole family, very cozy and absolute comfort

Elenaseptember 2017
Google

A rustic finca full of charm, wonderful, authentic, spectacular. 100% recommendable. They treated us great.

Daniel (Nápoles)august 2017
TripAdvisor

Here you can enjoy a magnificent estate with two houses, one large and one smaller, perfectly rehabilitated and equipped with everything to the smallest detail. Full of hideouts where you can relax, have a drink, but above all enjoy the sunsets from which we called “the viewpoint of the Arizonans.” As it is 3 km from the village and there are no lights around, the sky at night is spectacular. I went with a dog and he enjoyed almost more than me.

Álvarojune 2017
Google

A beautiful and spectacular site. A hidden paradise that is worth visiting. The house is perfectly maintained and the rooms are very cozy.

María (Madrid)october 2016
HomeAway

We went on October a group of 10 adults and 9 children. We rented the Main House, which is in perfect condition and very well equipped. It is a beautiful place and we received a great treatment from the owner, Cristina, as well as from Ludi and Alejandro, who taught us everything necessary to take advantage of our stay and feel at home. Without a doubt, a place to return to.